Fabulous Booklist Review for Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and Fortune

““Infused with the flavors of Chinese cuisine and sprinkled with magic, Lim’s debut will be a treat for fans of Mary Simses, Ashton Lee, and Nina George. Her prose is infectious, with a cinematic flair. Readers will fall in love with Natalie, her multifaceted supporting cast, and the sights, sounds, and smells of San Francisco. This bighearted and deeply-felt story stirs together mourning, nostalgia, and the freedom of new possibilities.” ―Booklist

Source

Roselle Kaes
NATALIE TAN'S BOOK OF LUCK AND FORTUNE

Berkley Invests in Lim’s Debut

After winning two books at auction for six figures, Cindy Hwang at Berkley will publish Roselle Lim’s debut novel, Natalie Tan’s Book of Luck and FortuneJenny Bent at the Bent Agency brokered the deal, which includes a second, currently untitled novel, for U.S., Canadian, and translation rights. Berkley said Natalie Tan, slated for summer 2019, is “a heartwarming novel of magical realism in which an aspiring chef returns home to San Francisco following her estranged mother’s death and must master a series of enchanted recipes in order to revive her family’s old Chinatown restaurant.” The second book in the deal is scheduled for summer 2020.

Source: Publisher's Weekly

Roselle Kaes